Inner Peace


This is what inner peace looks like. Well, sorta. Okay, no it isn’t, but it’s still a peaceful image.

Yeah, I would go so far as to say that I’ve achieved inner peace. My thoughts and feelings are no longer in conflict, and I can think with a clarity that I don’t think many people can imagine. The solution was remarkably simple, so it won’t take long for you to read here. Implementing it is another story.

When there is a problem or an emergency, the first thing that anyone who knows what to do will advise is don’t panic. Panic is an emotional reaction that makes it impossible to think clearly and very likely that one will do the wrong thing. There are exceptions, of course. If you are being chased by a lion, panic. When something wants to eat you, the most sensible thing to do is run away unless you are Captain Superman or Chuck Norris. The best guideline for how clearly you need to think is how much time you have to react. Panic is an instant reaction, and it comes most naturally to those who are either chased by lions on a regular basis or not in the habit of thinking things through. Most people tend to feel their way through things, even math tests.

1+1=2, not because it feels right, but because it makes logical sense. Problems that can be solved logically should not involve the emotions, even when emotions are the problem to begin with.

And that, my dear reader, is what I have found, time and time again, to be my problem throughout my youth. Emotions polluted my thinking, and I felt my way through situations when I should have been thinking. My intellect did not dominate my emotions, and as a result, I ended up getting hurt emotionally a lot more than I should have. If you take only one lesson from this blog, let it be this. Emotions dull the intellect.

Everyone wants to feel as good as they can as often as they can for as long as they can. Happiness could be defined as an overall pleasing balance of emotional and physical sensations. Everything a person does is for the purpose of increasing his or her level of happiness, increasing someone else’s level of happiness, or increasing the time he, she, or others have to experience happiness. One fundamental requirement for an individual’s happiness is freedom. Freedom is the absence of limits. Authorities exist to place limits on freedom, so naturally, the rejection of authority is necessary to achieve happiness on an individual level.

It could be said that security is also necessary for happiness, but don’t people enjoy activities like skydiving and bungee jumping? Don’t some people even watch horror movies for the purpose of feeling afraid? Safety is not a requirement for happiness, not universally anyway. Where fun is concerned, it is best to disregard safety. One can be happy without having fun, but one cannot have fun without being happy. Freedom must increase, and safety must decrease in order for fun to be maximized.

In the same way, fear must be overcome in order to maximize happiness and freedom. Fear places limits on what we do and think. It seeks to control us by making us seek safety. One cannot be afraid and happy at the same time. When I began to challenge and overcome my fears, it introduced me to a lifestyle of using my mind to overcome my emotions. Courage proved to be the ultimate weapon on my mind’s side of the inner struggle. I can still recognize situations that might threaten my safety, but I use my intellect to decide whether or not to take the risk. I decide what I do and how I live.

Post your thoughts! Post them now!

