Gawd bless ‘Murica

Today is a good day for freethinkers to avoid social media, because it’s Memorial Day, one of many holidays where the national religion of patriotism is practiced by theists and atheists alike. It wouldn’t bother me so much if all people did was put up flags. That’s just a symbol, and I don’t care what the symbol minded do. It’s all the stuff about soldiers dying for our freedom that bothers me. No soldier has ever died for our freedom. If they did, then we wouldn’t have a government.

There was a time when I would have argued vehemently for the government to be abolished, but that’s no longer what I’m advocating. What I’m saying is that as long as there are people who will punish other people for doing or not doing certain things, we are not truly free. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, though. We’re not free to kill people. We’re not free to rape. But we’re also not free to make certain amounts of money without giving some to the government. We’re not free to carry certain kinds of vegetation in our pockets. We’re not even free to stomp on an American flag. The government won’t get us for that last one, but patriot religious extremists will.

It’s all well and good for you to worship pieces of cloth and hired killers, but I’d like it if you kept it to yourself. That won’t happen, though, so I’ll just do my best to get through this annoying holiday.

2 thoughts on “Gawd bless ‘Murica”

  1. I hope all is well with you. I stumbled across your youtube page with the funny Peter Popoff post and then came across your blog. I enjoyed reading your stuff. Maybe that magic spring water worked and you became a millionaire and are now living on an island where there isn’t internet access..

    1. Hello! Yes, all is indeed well. I’m not a millionaire yet, but maybe if I just send Peter Popoff another $300, Yahweh will fulfill his promise to make me rich and cure my AIDS. :p

      It’s actually because everything is going well that I haven’t been making many new videos or blog posts lately. I tend to want to vent negative things more than share positive ones, but I should change that.

Post your thoughts! Post them now!

